The Freelance Files: Issue 6

Gigs this week

When’s the last time you quantified how much garbage you made in a week?

If you’re like me, the answer to that question is “never.” Tracking trash has never been high on my list of priorities. However, it’s just one of the tasks you have to complete if you want to be a Certifiably Green Denver business.

I spoke recently with Amy Andrle, co-owner of L’Eagle Services. The cannabis retail store was the first of its kind to receive the City and County of Denver’s Certifiably Green Denver distinction.

The program, run by Denver’s Department of Environmental Health, evaluates businesses’ eco-friendly practices and management strategies in five areas:

  • Energy efficiency
  • Water conservation
  • Resource management
  • Alternative transportation
  • Business management

If you want to read more, check out the full story at Dispensary Management Today.

Fun stuff

I’m a fan of free stock images. (Namely, because I’m broke.) But, I get weary of the same old photos of writers, pencils, typewriters, etc. This week, I discovered Gratisography, and my life is forever changed.

OK, maybe that’s a bit dramatic, but seriously. Here’s my favorite one so far:

384h-1

See what I mean?

Check it out. And, while you’re there, buy the man a coffee. Evil genius deserves to be rewarded.

Jam of the Week

This week’s jam comes courtesy of Welcome To Night Vale. At some point, I’m going to curate a Spotify playlist with all my favorite tunes from the weather section. For now, though, I give you “Having Fun” by Tom Milsom.

How do I describe this song? Imagine Patti Smith slamming poetry to the backdrop of flutes and syncopated drums, and you’d be close. Just listen, though. I think you’ll like it.

That’s about it for this week. Keep an eye on my Facebook page for photos, conversations and other nonsense. Also, if you’re thinking about landing a column in your local newspaper or picking up some freelance writing on the side, read this blog post first. It will help you establish a good relationship with your editor.

Inspiration

Things start moving when you do.

 

Have a good weekend, friends.

Photo credits: Pixabay, Gratisography

Leave a Reply

